Tags

,

One thing about the power of technology in teaching is that you have to take the time to learn to use it. TTV, Russell Stannard’s website, offers free training videos in many cutting-edge uses of free technology in teaching.

I found out about the idea of using screencasts to provide feedback on student writing from looking at the workshops that will be presented at the 2012 Computers and Writing convention. This is an exciting idea, and like most things I’ve learned to do with technology in teaching, it’s not because of the theoretical implications of having a better impact with feedback. That is certainly important, and exploring the research link on TTV shows a history of the theoretical basis. But I want to explore it because it looks like a better, more immediate way to connect with students.

I might make this my semester project, but first I have to find out if I can learn to use the tool for the purpose. I’ll let you know how it goes!

